Adult Fiction / Cookbooks / Fantasy / Humor / Literary Fiction / Magical Realism / New Adult / Nonfiction / Pop Culture / Science Fiction / Young Adult

Eric Smith, PS Literary

Note, just because what you’re writing isn’t on here, doesn’t mean I’m not interested in it. If you think you’ve got something I might enjoy based on my tastes, send me a pitch! But please, send all pitches through the P.S. Literary submissions email.

You can find that contact information here: psliterary.com/submissions.html

Young & New Adult: I’m eager to find bright, diverse new voices in YA. Send me your sci-fi, your fantasy, your contemporary, your pretty-much-any-genre in YA. I write and read YA frequently, so this is a genre I’m fiercely passionate about.

If you’re curious about my tastes, I adore authors like Susan Dennard, Lauren Morrill, E.C. Myers, Rainbow Rowell, Chuck Wendig, Andrew Smith, Marie Lu, Tahereh Mafi, Kat Zhang, and new kids on the YA block like Aisha Saeed, Sabaa Tahir, Brandy Colbert, Kristi Helvig, and Adam Silvera.

To quote Andrew Smith, “keep YA weird.” Give me your weird, give me your quirky!

With NA, send me your awkward romances and your bold new ideas. It’s a growing genre, I’d love to find something that surprises me and makes me swoon. Steamy kissing scenes are awesome… but I’d love to see some NA jump into new genres. Are those kissing scenes in… oh, I don’t know, SPACE? Would it make Kirk and Uhura blush? Awesome. Send it to me.

Science Fiction & Fantasy: Looking for high fantasy and exciting sci-fi, new worlds that simply can’t be put down.

I would love books in the vein of titles by authors like Brandon Sanderson, Lev Grossman, Cory Doctorow, John Scazli, Jeff Vandermeer, Cherie Priest, or Andy Weir.

Cookbooks: I’m particularly interested in cookbook ideas from bloggers. Do you have an awesome food blog with a growing audience? Can you take amazing photos? Are you an active part of the food blogger community? Let’s talk. I’m very open to helping develop ideas here, even if the book isn’t quite there yet.

Non-Fiction: When it comes to non-fiction, I’m interested in books that focus on pop culture, geekery, and/or teach readers about the odd and the unique. If you’ve ever picked up a book by Mary Roach, you’ll know exactly what I’m talking about. Non-fiction that explains big ideas and large concepts in ways that are accessible, fun, and humorous.

I’m also interested in essay collections, particularly humor though I’m open to anything that’s really compelling. Think Davy Rothbart, David Sedaris, or Anna Goldfarb. Give me your awkward confessions. Make me laugh.

Blog to Book Ideas: I would love to work with bloggers kicking around ideas for developing their blog into a book. Think your massively popular Tumblr deserves a fun hardcover gift book? Let’s discuss.

Literary & Commercial Fiction: Very open to and excited to read some adult literary fiction, especially anything contemporary with a rom-com twist (think Nick Hornby) or mystery / thrillers that touch on current affairs (think Jon McGoran).

I’m also very interested in literary fiction that does a bit of genre mashing. Think Station Eleven, The Last Policeman (one of my favorite books ever), or The Night Circus.

And there we have it. Send me your books. Have a pitch? Email me.
Any submission rules we should know about?: No attachments.
Submission email: query at psliterary.com

Submissions guidelines: http://www.psliterary.com/submissions.html

Twitter handle: @ericsmithrocks

See all of Eric’s #MSWL tweets here. 

Leave a comment