Adult Fiction / Historical Fiction / Literary Fiction / Middle Grade / MSWL Paragraphs / Mystery / Romance / Women's Fiction / Young Adult

Patricia Nelson, Marsal Lyon Literary Agency

I’m looking for middle grade, young adult and adult fiction. On the adult side, I’m especially interested in smart, captivating novels in the Romance, Women’s Fiction, and accessible literary fiction genres.

For YA and MG, I’m hoping to fall in love with amazing characters and voice in any subgenre. In terms of realistic YA, I would be excited to find a sweet contemporary romance in the vein of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, or Becky Albertalli, but I also really enjoy edgy upper-upper YA (SEX AND VIOLENCE by Carrie Mesrobian was a recent favorite). Stories with diverse characters are always welcome, especially when those characters face other challenges in addition to their race or sexuality. And I would love see more queries for teen horror as well as more suspenseful “whydunit” mysteries, stories like Jennifer Armentrout’s DON’T LOOK BACK. I am also actively seeking YA fantasy and sci-fi that not only has amazing worldbuilding, but centers on a well-developed main character with a compelling and unique voice/story/journey.

For adult fiction, I tend to be interested in stories with complex characters and relationships and thought-provoking, emotionally resonant takes on questions of family, friendship, identity and home. In terms of literary fiction, I can’t get enough of the slightly offbeat sensibility of TV shows like GIRLS and BROAD CITY and literature like Sheila Heti’s HOW SHOULD A PERSON BE, and am actively looking for novels in that vein. I’m also drawn to novels that engage with political themes in a non-didactic way, and would be thrilled to find something like Rachel Kushner’s THE FLAMETHROWERS or Roxane Gay’s AN UNTAMED STATE. In terms of Women’s Fiction, I tend to be interested in upmarket novels that involve complicated families and friendships. In general, if you write fiction about flawed but compelling female protagonists, I would love to see it!

Finally, I’m also looking for adult romance, both contemporary and historical. When it comes to contemporary romance, I especially love beta heroes, bookish or athletic heroines, small towns (especially in the South), and quirky extended casts of characters. I’m always open to fresh and original historical romance, including stories that take place outside of Regency England.
Submissions email : patricia@marsallyonliteraryagency.com
Twitter handle: @patricianels
Link to your submissions guidelines: http://www.marsallyonliteraryagency.com/submissions/submission-info/

See all of Patricia’s #MSWL tweets.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s